Roy jeans – short film.

How the label came together.

I started in my little apartment sewing these jeans that, in hindsight, were really terrible. Somehow I was encouraged that I could make anything at all and within about 4 months I was making some wearable stuff. I really had no idea what I was doing, but would put in tons of time either sewing or talking to people or reading about sewing machines. I’ve had a few professions and one still is metal fabrication.

I think it helped me to be able to think. I would close my eyes and work out a lot of sewing problems by thinking it through. So I just kept at it and I’m telling you, the highs were high and the lows were low. About 9 months in I met a really key person that, I felt, took me under her wing. Then she and her friends taught me about denim.

Up till then I didn’t know anything about denim. I was just trying to learn how to sew. This led to meeting a string of really smart people who seemed to be the gatekeepers of a lost art. Its funny to say the making jeans is a lost art, but it sort of is. Also, I started getting into the old machinery under certain peoples influence. This just made it even more fun for me. I already like old stuff, but old sewing machines have so much soul. At some point the apartment just became overwhelmingly packed with machines and my neighbors weren’t that stoked.

About thematerialsleuth

I work in the digital industry and this blog is an outlet for things that I admire whether its design, interior, graphic, fashion, styling, industrial, architecture, art, illustration, music or other bloggers etc. I constantly search for different artists who do not grab the media attention or have high profiles brand ambassadors pushing their products.

Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,600 other followers

