The bohemian Allen Stone

tms

Don’t let his hippie appearance fool you into a judging this gifted person he possess a incredible well balanced toned voice – view the insert from the Interview magazine below:

It’s typically that kind of dialogue, like, “Man, you don’t look like you sound” or, “You don’t sound how you look.” Soul music has always been a very traditionally an African-American genre of music, and it’s always been a very sexy genre of music. There’s not too much grunge and dirt in soul music. I’m from the backwoods of the Northwest. I grew up in the forest. I grew up playing outdoors, skiing and hunting. I’m not a slicked-back, Motown, Detroit dude. I didn’t grow up in the city. Luckily, I found soul music, and that was what I could aim my passion at.

Upon hearing his voice it forces your conscience state to search to learn more about Allen stone who, what and where did he come from. After reading the above insert I can reconfigure peoples reaction in my own mind I find myself guilty of a double take. The voice of a Steve Wonder you typical typecast Allen Stone in different light (Shame on me), breaking the stereotypes and forging his own sound. After viewing the video content below Allen Stone is one extraordinary human being.

During his performance he dons a rug like poncho – his curly blonde locks shimmer to the melodic beat your are instantly captivated by his soulful voice. I do urge all readers to spotify this emerging artist and form your own opinion about a a very talented person.

about

Stone was born on March 14, 1987 in Chewelah, Washington a small town about 45 minutes north of Spokane.

Allen Stone began his career singing at his father’s church. His father was a preacher growing up and his mother was an OB/GYN nurse. He sang in the church since he was 3 years old. By 14, Stone was leading worship at his church and playing the guitar. The draw of music for Allen was mainly being able to express himself to a crowd of people. Allen did not discover soul music until he was a teenager. Once he discovered the music, he started collecting classic albums from the 60’s and 70’s. He was 15 when he heard Stevie Wonder‘s album Innervisions.

It was not until one of his friends became successful that Stone decided to become serious about his musical career. Stacie Orrico, a close friend of his when he was a teen, had come out with a record and had become successful. “She was traveling, singing everywhere, and recording,” Stone says, “She was just a year older than me and I was like, ‘Man that would be so much fun to do, sing and actually have people listen.

video

image:

About thematerialsleuth

I work in the digital industry and this blog is an outlet for things that I admire whether its design, interior, graphic, fashion, styling, industrial, architecture, art, illustration, music or other bloggers etc. I constantly search for different artists who do not grab the media attention or have high profiles brand ambassadors pushing their products.

Please leave a reply

